Ramp Etiquette

Anything and everything related to boating, motors, and electronic equipment. Find out the answers to your questions here.
cprince
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Ramp Etiquette

Post by cprince »

**I hesitated posting this as it does not portray me in a good light... I am not a hot head... but I am human, and as such, am not perfect and am subject to poor judgment from time to time.**

I will start off by saying that I am still new to trailer-ing my own boat. I have been a wing man (some say wing-nut) for many years with a friend who has a boat.

What is the accepted etiquette in this situation:

I had been circling the ramp in my boat waiting for a person who is launching their boat for about 5 to 10 minutes (It was windy and they looked inexperienced) - giving them plenty of room to get this done. No one else is waiting to launch at this point. I see a truck with a boat coming down the lane.

I get to shore quickly to make certain that common sense will prevail and the guy would wait for me to trailer my boat and get out of his way quickly.

The new guy goes ahead and starts blocking the way - I figure that the guy just didn't notice... I motion to him that I am getting my boat out... and he starts giving me attitude - gesturing and shrugging his shoulders as though to say "So sad - Too bad" and waving his hands as if to dismiss me.

I snap and loose it. I let a tirade of experlatives go while approaching his vehicle on foot with speed and bugged out eyes. (I know... even if I am right... I am an wrong and an idiot for popping...). At that point I realized that there were two of them, and the guy I was fishing with was ducking for cover (no help there!). To my surprise (and relief), the two guys backed off. I suppose my bugged out eyes were enough, and they seemed to realize that they were not going to bully me into letting them put in first.