Ice Fishing for Walleye, Crappie and Perch

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Spezza_Fan
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Ice Fishing for Walleye, Crappie and Perch

Post by Spezza_Fan »

Hey guys,
I'm fairly new to this hole ice fishing scene and I'm slowly getting all the stuff I need to set me up on some fish. With all this flasher talk going on the board these days I started to watch some videos and decided that it would be a great investment. However, my main target when ice fishing in the past were Pike and pike only. Yeah I went out a couple of times on the Ottawa river right near my place in Aylmer and caught a couple of small walleyes (under a pound) but that's about it. This year I'd like to diversify if you get what I mean. I've been looking at old reports from last winter of people going to the BOQ and hooking up on some monster walleyes. Other reports where people landed a ton of Crappies and some jumbo Perch. Although I'm not new to fishing, I have never targeted these 3 species before. Yeah I know, what a waste. I don't know where to find them or how to clean them (I can find that on the Internet once I find them). I've only ever had walleye maybe twice in my life and from what I remember it was the best tasting fish I had ever tasted. So here are my newbie questions since it's now December and the water will start to freeze soon enough. Where and how do I target these fish? They don't have to be all in one spot. I'd like to drive around and test some new spots out. I've never caught a crappie in my life. I've caught many sunfish but it's not the same thing. The biggest perch I've caught was maybe 4" long. And as for walleyes, I can't remember one being over a pound. So this winter my plan is to hit my 3 new PBs on these 3 species and if I could beat my PB of 8 pounds for a Pike on the ice, I'll be able to mark this year on my calendar