BAY OF QUINTE HELP

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
jayg
Participant
Participant

BAY OF QUINTE HELP

Post by jayg »

Hey guys, I'm heading from Ottawa to try the Bay of Quinty next week for the first time, being from northern Ontario I have no experience with downriggers or planar boards, I've always jig fished or simply trolling with spinner and live bait. My new boat has 2 downriggers on it and numerous rod holders, here are the questions I have

1 - Should I spend the time to setup planar boards, or can I troll simply using rapala style lures and normal rods.

2 - Can I use my downriggers to run a dual planar board setup, or do I need to invest in something else

3 - What are the best lures to use, I see alot of people using Mann's +20

4 - How deep should I be fishing and should I rely on the fish finder to find fish in the deeper waters, what type of pattern is used to troll.

5 - Is jig fishing viable there, how deep should I be fishing if so.

Any input is welcome, thanks alot
fish Nut
Participant
Participant

Post by fish Nut »

If you fish East of the Ferry crossing you can have 2 lines per person and then you would want the planner boards.
We would mark the fish and put the down riggers to the depth the fish are.
Purple reef runners worked best for us.
I fished there 2 years ago November and got a 13 lb ten minutes in, 8
9-13lb followed and a 15lb pike. Are fish finder lit up like a xmas tree with bait fish and the hogs.
I think its a bit early for the peek time, but your close... when the ice is just starting and the leafs are off is best.. brrrrrrr.
Good luck.
FN
Trophy Hunter
Participant
Participant

BOQ Oct timeframe

Post by Trophy Hunter »