Fishing close to St.Lawrence College Kingston

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
ejw88
Participant
Participant

Fishing close to St.Lawrence College Kingston

Post by ejw88 »

Hello everyone,

I'm new to board looks like a great site! I'm currently taking medical lab science at St. Lawrence and was wondering if there's any spots that are close by that offer reasonable fishing. I'm not looking for anything huge or special just to get out on the ice. I've fished a small lake in Verona a few times and only have a few small perch to show for it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have all the equipment but clueless as to where to go.

Thanks,
Eric
Superdad
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Kingston winter Fishing

Post by Superdad »

If you have wheels, you would be able to hit the Bay of Quinte, 45-50 mins west of Kingston.

There is also some ice fishing up on Loughborough Lake, up Division street.

Hope that gets you started.

David aka Superdad
Kingston
orrsey
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by orrsey »

Are you able to get out north of Kingston? You say you have fished in Verona, there are lots of great lakes in that area.

orrsey
hook&shoot
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by hook&shoot »

I have never fished but near Verona is a lake called Canoe lake I hear mentioned alot. I beleive you can access it via the Newboro road from either Crosby or Verona side. Supposed to be good for hardwater.
H&S
Doug
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Doug »

If you have wheels, the folks have already suggested some good choices.

If not, I have often seen folks fishing up into the Cataraqui north of the Lasalle Causeway on the west side. There are sizeable pike, walleye and panfish in there, and the ice should be good. The current is primarily on the east side and should be avoided.

Doug
Billy Dee
Participant
Participant