Can I use my Quebec license?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Bender
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Can I use my Quebec license?

Post by Bender »

Okay here's the scoop.

I live in Ontario and have an Ontario license, but I'm also buying a Quebec license because we have a spring trip planned up at Lac Kipawa this year. The question is, because the Ottawa is a federal waterway can I use 5 tip ups because I'm in possession of a valid Quebec license or if because I'm a resident of Ontario, do I have to abide by those rules and use only two?
If anyone can clarify this it would be appreciated.

Thanks

Brian
Rex Mundi
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Rex Mundi »

I do not know for sure but I think that you have to abide be the regulation that you entered the water on.

If you enter form Ontario you need a ON license and must obay the rules of it and vissa versa for the PQ side.

I may be totally wrong and feel free to flame me vigurously if I am. I just remember discussions from last year about the PQ fuzz busting fishermen with ON liscense that were launching from the PQ side.
Bender
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Bender »

I remember that as well but I also remember someone stating that it was okay to enter onto the ice from the Quebec side with an Ontario license to fish.... so what's the dif really?
Hopefully we'll get some clarification.
Bruin
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

NOT SURE BUT

Post by Bruin »

I know for sure that waterways that divide provinces are fishable with either licence BUT it is my understanding that if you are ice fishing on the ontario side of the Ottawa river (for example) then you must obide by Ontario rules and vice versa...BUT I may be totally wrong...I fish where I know I am welcome

Vive L'Ontario
Just buggin!!!! :D :D :D
Gord
Retail Advertiser
Retail Advertiser

Post by Gord »