Princecraft #1 in Boats

Image

Login

Username:

Password:


Remember Me
Hide Me
Register

Statistics

Total posts 308215
Total topics 35859
Total members 5979
Our newest member Ruki

Mounting fish finder transducer without drilling

Anything and everything related to boating, motors, and electronic equipment. Find out the answers to your questions here.
  • Supported By...

Rate this topic:
  

Mounting fish finder transducer without drilling

Postby solar » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:30 am

I'm looking to get a fishfinder for my new boat. I can mount the display unit at the console. If I drill a hole large enough for the power and transducer cables, I can run them through the console and as out-of-the-way as possible on the way back to the trasnsom. The power can be hooked I believe directly to the battery, and the transducer of course goes on the transom.

Not keen to drill holes in the transom, I found an aluminum bracket that clamps on the transom, and the transducer is then botled onto the bottom of the bracket. There are adjustment screws, so you can fine tune the transducer's position for the best read.

Any experience with this, or do most folks drill and mount the transducer right into the transom?

Thanks,

Chris
User avatar
solar
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby XXXL » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:10 am

Take a look at SternMate. They make a transducer bracket that adheres on to the transom and offer all sort of different configurations for running multiple transducers. No experience with them but I'm going pick one up when I add the Structure Scan module to my HDS to avoid having to drill more holes in my transom. Alot of other manufacturers offer transducer mounting plates that screw on and then you can mount several transducers to those or if you ever change your sonar you can drill new holes in the plate and not your boat. If you seal them up with quality marine grade silicone it really shouldnt be a problem.
User avatar
XXXL
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:55 am

Re: Mounting fish finder transducer without drilling

Postby Mr.J. » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:47 am

solar wrote:
Not keen to drill holes in the transom, I found an aluminum bracket that clamps on the transom, and the transducer is then botled onto the bottom of the bracket. There are adjustment screws, so you can fine tune the transducer's position for the best read.

Chris


Please tell me about this bracket and where you got it. My transducer needs adjustment and I can't do it with the current location so this very much interests me.

Thanks
User avatar
Mr.J.
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant
 
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 9:18 am
Location: BarrHaven

Re: Mounting fish finder transducer without drilling

Postby cprince » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:53 am

solar wrote:I'm looking to get a fishfinder for my new boat. I can mount the display unit at the console. If I drill a hole large enough for the power and transducer cables, I can run them through the console and as out-of-the-way as possible on the way back to the trasnsom. The power can be hooked I believe directly to the battery, and the transducer of course goes on the transom.

Not keen to drill holes in the transom, I found an aluminum bracket that clamps on the transom, and the transducer is then botled onto the bottom of the bracket. There are adjustment screws, so you can fine tune the transducer's position for the best read.

Any experience with this, or do most folks drill and mount the transducer right into the transom?

Thanks,

Chris


This is the design I'll be using;

Image

Pretty simple approach!

I have a boat with the mount drilled through the transom, wont do that again. Just makes me nervous. I have a gasket system keeping me dry that is working at this point.

Craig
User avatar
cprince
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 8:43 pm
Location: Québabwe

Postby solar » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:25 pm

User avatar
solar
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby GR8-Scott » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:18 am

Or at Le Barons ... the Tite-Lok Transducer clamp (left side of the page)
http://www.lebaron.ca/pdf_files_sp10/fi ... te_lok.pdf
************************
Scott
- A bad day on the water is better than a good day in the office.....
- Every day can be a fishing day, but not every day will be a catching day.......
User avatar
GR8-Scott
Gold Participant
Gold Participant
 
Posts: 1143
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Arnprior

Postby solar » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:27 am

As an update, a buddy of mine has advised me that the mount seen above doesn't hold steady at speed, and can only be used effectively at trolling speeds. Nor do suction cup mounts hold on beyond trolling/slower speeds I'm told. So, one choice is to go with a Transom Saver, which is a mount that is glued on the transom, to which the transducer is screwed so you have no holes in the boat. It does cost about $115 USD however. My friend, a mechanic, says that he has drill-mounted his transducer, and that by using a high-grade silicone caulk used in auto mechanics, he has not had a leak in the past 10 years which seems more than acceptable to me.

So, I may well go ahead with drill mounting. Stainless screws to avoid any corrosion issues, since mixing the wrong metal with aluminum will result in rapid corrosion.

Convention holds the day I guess. I'll post some pix once everything gets done.

Chris
User avatar
solar
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby Dan Smyth » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 am

If you don't want to drill holes have you considered using a good grade epoxy to "glue" it on?
User avatar
Dan Smyth
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:42 am

Postby solar » Mon Apr 26, 2010 12:15 pm

Absolutely, and since Transom Saver does just that, its a valid idea and just a matter of finding a glue that is proven for years of marine exposure.
User avatar
solar
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 4:56 pm

Postby refteck » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:17 pm

A option I used was a white nylon cutting board, just cut it to fit your application the glue it on and you now have a cheap place to mount transducers with out going through the transom.
User avatar
refteck
Participant
Participant
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:01 pm
Location: Osgoode, On

Postby West Lake Willows » Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:25 pm

As refteck says. Go with a transducer mounting board. This way you only drill two holes and securely mount your transducer. You can adjust it, or change it at will without putting any more holes in your transom.

Here is a link to the board I use for my rental boats. This is made by Berts Custom Tackle. I know Baitcaster's and Paddletails can order this for you. Their distributer carries it in stock and it costs about $15.

http://www.teclausa.com/bert/products/M ... -board.jpg

Scott
User avatar
West Lake Willows
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 4:26 pm
Location: Picton, Ontario


Return to Boats, Motors, & Electronics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Supported By...