Ganaraska river in Port Hope

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
fishin mission
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Ganaraska river in Port Hope

Post by fishin mission »

I am headed to Port hope in early September for the Salmon run and have yet to ever catch a Salmon.
Just wondered if anyone can give me some info on what lures to use.Where would be the best place to start fishing. I have heard Cleo's, Williams wobblers, and some Rapala's.
I am a Newbie to this type of fishing so any help would be very appreciated. Thanks in Advance ,,,,,DANO
Jimmy_1
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Re: Ganaraska river in Port Hope

Post by Jimmy_1 »

You'll need a Doughbeans Salmon tastic XLVAG rod!
LeGrand
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by LeGrand »

Free Centerpin reel with a float.
fishin mission
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by fishin mission »

Jimmy :

I don't use doh bin rods i use a canadian tire special lol
and i like to come in last at a fishing tournament. I end up being first if you turn the page upside down.
Jimmy_1
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Jimmy_1 »

Go TEAM CT!
ganman
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by ganman »

fishin mission wrote:I am headed to Port hope in early September for the Salmon run and have yet to ever catch a Salmon.
Just wondered if anyone can give me some info on what lures to use.Where would be the best place to start fishing. I have heard Cleo's, Williams wobblers, and some Rapala's.
I am a Newbie to this type of fishing so any help would be very appreciated. Thanks in Advance ,,,,,DANO
Are you fishing from shore or a boat?

Too early for many fish in the river itself.
fishin mission
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by fishin mission »

Ganman:

Fishing from shore but i am thinking about bringing my boat but more than likely shore fishing !
almontefisher