Bogie splake

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
huskyboy
Participant
Participant

Bogie splake

Post by huskyboy »

Good day all
Hoping to try and hit my first splake lake this Friday.. I have been hitting the bogie area for a few years... Mostly for brookies with mixed sucess...
Figured I would head somewhere with easier access and try for some splake..
Anyone have any tips, bait etc for me..?.
I never get out much these days so I am hoping it's not a skunker
Bass Addict
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Bass Addict »

Chartruese Lil Foxee tipped with a White Gulp Fish Fry..............jig right off the bottom :idea:
There will be an influx of Great Grey Owls in the winter of 2017
Dan Smyth
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Post by Dan Smyth »

BA you didn't mention chumming with the bird seed.
Dore
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Post by Dore »

Small tubes........ natural colours. A small jig head toped with a mini minnow should work as well. Dont get me wrong I'm no trout master but I've seen these techniques work.
|Dore|
almontefisher
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by almontefisher »

All these are good but just keep it simple for splake.....hook and minnow just off bottom in anywhere from 4-16ft of water...usually if you can find a bay, fish it they like to school in for forage a few times a day. You can throw your arsenal at them if you want but I have had amazing success with a simple tip up and hook and minnow. 2-3" max size of minnow though.
Fishing isn't a matter of life and death....
It's much more important.

ORWL
fatluke
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by fatluke »