Muskie Rod and Reel advice...

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
MuskieWannabe
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Muskie Rod and Reel advice...

Post by MuskieWannabe »

I'm a newbie to the muskie world and I need some opinions on the rod and reel combo I'm looking to buy.

Abu C3-5501 ( I know not the standard 6501, but i've heard just as nice and all i'll need...for now)

Berkley Lightning Rod, 6'6" 1 piece MH

PowerPro line, 50lb test

What do you all think of a combo like this? I don't want to spend too much but i don't want to go ghetto either. I htink that this may be a good starting point where I could upgrade a year or two down the road.

Any thoughts???

Post by Guest »

If it is one word of advice I can offer you when purchasing muskie gear, it is not to be stingy on your equipment. Buy good stuff to start, and believe me, you'll be thankful you did later on. If you are serious about going after big fish, plan on spending some money. :)

I use Abu 6500 C3 reels for casting. They are great. Line them with 80pd PowerPro or TUF Line. 50pd is okay, but I'd suggest going to 80pd minimum. I'm using 100pd this year. I used 50pd a while ago, and have lost a lot of lures when trolling, or when casting heavy baits and you get a birds-nest. It's strong, but not strong enough. Make sure you use backing on those reels too to avoid slipping. Last thing you need is a 40pd fish on your line, and your reel starts slipping. :) For the rod, stay clear of the Lightening Rods. I had one snap in half early this year, and I'll never use another one. If you want an economic rod, get a Shimano Compre CPC-70XH 7ft. Great rods for the price. I just bought one, and love it. Good for casting and trolling. If you want to spend a little more, go for a St. Croix or G-Loomis.