Kayakers - Question for ya....

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
steve-hamilton
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Kayakers - Question for ya....

Post by steve-hamilton »

Not sure where else to ask, but it seems this board has a large number of kayakers...so it might be intersting to hear their side ....

In hamilton harbour there seems to be a growing kayak contingency....

Awesome! seriously....

Now, i'm new to this stuff....so i don't know if this is normal...

Is it normal for a yaker to reverse their vehicle down the boat ramp so they can unload their gear and kayak into their vehicle, then put their kayak in their bed of their truck....thus taking up the only "boat" ramp to load their kayak?

When we had a 14' square stern canoe and a 2hp motor, we would pick up the canoe and bring it away from shore to unload, then pick it up and put on our vehicle...

never would we reverse our car down the ramp to unload the gear, then put the canoe on the roofracks on the car, then drive up the ramp...that would be retarded!

But it seems kayakers in Hamilton harbour - that's how they do it?! I understand how versitile the kayak is - not needing a boat ramp and all, while the boat generally needs one ...

What is "normal" or "expected" when a yaker is around a boat ramp?
Last edited by steve-hamilton on Sat May 08, 2010 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Trophymuskie
Gold Participant
Gold Participant

Post by Trophymuskie »

I think you are dealing with rude and/or uneducated folks that's all. Anyone seeing a lineup should do everything possible to get out of the way ASAP.

I think some signage may be needed to help out those folks, there is no need to use the boat launch for a kayak or canoe, maybe there can be an area next to the boat launch that can accomodate the kayakers?
Catch and release them all
Richard Collin
steve-hamilton
Gold Participant