Ice Auger Questions?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
fiiish
Silver Participant
Silver Participant

Ice Auger Questions?

Post by fiiish »

Being new to ice fishing and having never owned an ice auger, I was doing some research and noticed there are different styles of hand ice augers.

On some the top handle is in line with the main shaft while others the handles are offset from the main shaft.

What are the advantages/ disadvantages of each style of auger?
Is one easier to use than the other ie. is the offset style harder to keep straight while turning?

Also, I'm thinking of getting at least a 6" but am wondering if it's worth getting the 8" instead.

JimW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by JimW »

I'm no expert but I will say until you are planning on fishing for large fish, I would stick with the 6". I have an 8" hand auger that I use when I want to travel light, without the power auger, and the 8" takes a lot more effort to cut thru the ice compared to a 6".

My 8" auger is a FinBore III with the offset handle, and curved blades for faster cutting, but even when it was new most 6" augers cut fastest than the 8".

I actually bought a new 6" hand auger today.

JimW
FowlDawg
Participant
Participant

Strikemaster Laser

Post by FowlDawg »

I personally prefer a 8" auger because the bigger hole doesn't freeze as fast, and its easier to fit a stubborn fish through. I would definitely recommend looking at the strike master laser. Those things are awesome plus they come with the attachment to install a power drill to em i seen one in action and it made my jiffy gas auger blush. I seriously considering switching as it is much lighter and easier to pack and haul. The laser works so well you can re-drill a hole that was done and has frozen up, I don't know of any other hand auger you can do that with. hopefully this has helped.