Muskrat lakers?

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
fenderbender
Participant
Participant

Muskrat lakers?

Post by fenderbender »

Any tips on getting lakers out of muskrat lake? I tried right after ice-out a couple of times last year and never got a one. I was long-lining spoons and cranks. Any tried and true lures or techniques to share? I've never caught a laker, other than in Lake Ontario on downriggers many years ago.
Popeye
Participant
Participant

Post by Popeye »

Just saw your post and although you asked a while ago, I will answer anyway.

i have been fishing Muskrat for over 25 years, and have caught many trophies.

I usually get lakers in Muskrat, average of one and seldom two in a mornings fish. I usually go with Downrigger and fish from ice off to beginning of may in about 30-40 feet of water in and out of bays. Most of my luck has been on the East side of lake, and just south of the snake river.

My lure of chioce have always been Sutton spoons, and I use 12 pound mono line. Has worked for me.

After may long weekend, lakers have gone deep, and usually around 70 feet, much deeper in summer and very rarely caught.

Average weight 5-6 pounds. bellies filled with rainbow smelt, so try to find the smelt and the lakers follow.

Wish you luck!
kunobasski
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Lakers

Post by kunobasski »

May I suggest looking no deeper then 15 foot of water?

As soon as the ice is off (and only for about a week or 2 after, depending on water temp) many of the lake trout will move up onto the shallow sand edges and rock bluffs. Many times you can see them swimming ahead of the boat, and when spotted, simply throw a tube or grub a few feet ahead of them and watch them eat it.