Otter Lake Hwy 15 Rainbow/Lake Trout

This is where it's all going on. One can ask for advice or general information or simply chew the fat about fishing tackle, tips, and locations.
Placide
Bronze Participant
Bronze Participant

Otter Lake Hwy 15 Rainbow/Lake Trout

Post by Placide »

So I've been fishing this lake for over ten years now, in-laws have a cottage on it. I can find the pike, the bass and more pan fish then I could ever want or need, however, after doing a search here on Fish-hawk, I read that it was stocked with Rainbow Trout a few years back.
Therefore my question is, are they really in the lake and has any one every caught one? And if so how? :)
I don't have down riggers so any suggustions would be greatly appreciated.
Gord
Retail Advertiser
Retail Advertiser

Post by Gord »

The last time it was stocked was 2005. They put 12,000 in...... the year before that 19,361. I never hear of anyone targeting them(other than thru the ice), but I think the only way you'll get 'em at this time of year is with 'riggers or maybe deep jigging. I'd just concentrate on the pike and bass.......they've probably eaten all the 'bows anyways. :lol: :lol:
I'm a goin' fishin', mama's goin' fishin' and my baby's goin fishin' too.

.......Taj Mahal.... "Fishin' Blues"
Tip-up
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Tip-up »

bowzog wrote:they've probably eaten all the 'bows anyways. :lol: :lol:
:lol: Some big bass in that lake :wink: I can tell ya from experience...

There was a report on the board a few years ago reporting good success catching rainbows in the lake. I could had sworn I had seen one cruising the shoreline before too..

Good luck finding a few..Like Bowzog said, the jist of them have most likely been food for the other inahabitants of the lake.
Tip-up
Diamond Participant
Diamond Participant

Post by Tip-up »

bowzog wrote:they've probably eaten all the 'bows anyways. :lol: :lol:
:lol: Some big bass in that lake :wink: I can tell ya from experience...